Friday, January 28

“West Side Story” among the big winners when the stars boycotted the Golden Globe award

The 79th Golden Globe Awards, long one of Hollywood’s biggest parties with 18 million viewers, were reduced to a live blog on Sunday.

“West Side Story”, “The Power of the Dog” and “Succession” were among the big winners in Sunday’s Golden Globe award, which did not go on TV. The winners were announced on Twitter.

The distribution to the Hollywood Foreign Press Association (HFPA) took place without being broadcast on television, as NBC has withdrawn from the collaboration.

Nor was there a red carpet, a host, the press present or any kind of live video. The winners were announced in the organization’s social media channels and websites.

Steven Spielberg’s “West Side Story” won big: best comedy or musical film, best female lead for Rachel Zegler and best supporting actress for Ariana DeBose.

Best drama film was the western film “The Power of the Dog”, starring Benedict Cumberbatch. Director Jane Campion was also awarded a prize, while Kodi Smit-McPhee received an award for her supporting role.

Diversity issues

HFPA has received massive criticism for lack of diversity and accusations of corruption, and the industry is boycotting the distribution.

It started then Los Angeles Times mentioned that there was not a single black member among the 87 journalists in the organization.

Later it became directed accusations against HFPA members for sexist and racist comments and that members had used the position to request services from actors and film companies.

No victory for Danish «Escape»

Best non-English language film was Japanese “Drive My Car”. Danish “Escape” was nominated in the category for best animated film, but had to give up for the Disney film “Encanto”. In advance, director Jonas Poher Rasmussen had said that he could have been the nomination without.

– It was a mixed feeling (to be nominated, ed.). Normally one would be happy, but in this situation there is something else, he told Jyllands-Posten before the award ceremony.

The film, which has Norwegian Maria Ekerhovd as co-producer, may compete for prizes also during the Oscars. It is shortlisted in three categories – and will, among other things, compete with Norwegian “The World’s Worst Man” to be among the five nominated for best international film.

Success for «Succesion»

In the TV category, “Succession” won big: Jeremy Strong and Sarah Snook were rewarded for their acting performances, while the series also won as best drama.

Jean Smart won for his role in “Hacks”, which was also named best comedy, while Jason Sudeikis was rewarded for his role in the football comedy “Ted Lasso”.

The South Korean smash hit “Squid game” was also awarded; O Yeong-su won for best supporting role.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.